What I’m Reading – HP 7

Standard

Hello, hello!

Let’s take advantage of the fact that this blog is new and I’d like to write on it all the time. 😉

For the first time in my life last year I decided to reread the Harry Potter series. I started around October and I am now in the 7th papery delight, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (I read a ton of books in the meantime too!)

What never fails to impress me in this series is the flawless continuity over so many years of crafting the story. And details like that were overlooked by me when I read it the first time, because I was too young! Also, being able to, for the first time, read the books without waiting years between them, was enlightening in that aspect. Small details of what she wrote on the first book were brought back in the last one, like it was all planned from the beginning! And it was. And that’s amazing, because there is a 10 years span between the beginning and end of the saga.

I am 24 now and feel I am more mature, so I can criticize aspects of Harry Potter that I couldn’t before. For example, when it comes to characters, there is really no depth. We know the superficial features of the main characters personalities, but can we say we really know them? I still cannot tell the difference between the twins, for example! The couples that got together seemed to have done so out of sheer hormone impulse. I mean, what does Harry see in Ginny anyway? Why does he fall in love with her and why do they stay together? I know it’s not supposed to be a love story, but I would like to know.

Still talking about love stories, I’m not sure about Ron and Hermione… J.K. Rowling said in an interview this year that Hermione should have ended up with Harry, not Ron. Maybe because Ron is not good enough for her? Well, neither is Harry!

Hermione is a strong woman and her and Harry have been building a relationship of brother and sister since the beginning. If they got together, that would just be gross. And Ron is a simples guy…she is no good for him. I imagine her walking all over him for the rest of his life.

Anyway, I managed to turn this into a gossip column, but I’m not turning back now! Point is, I had a great time rereading the series. I could appreciate how J. K. Rowling managed to evolve the content and tone of the books according to the age of the reader and I’m glad I got to be a part of this fandom for so long. It’s a pity that this generation isn’t that interested in Harry Potter, what with all the movies and a theme park…

Buh-bye, no one 😉

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading – HP 7

Leave a Reply

